Prof. Georges Gielen,

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium


Microelectronics have changed the way of life of every individual person in our society. We use and rely more and more upon electronic systems, from communications to multimedia to biomedical and automotive. However, the use of deeply scaled nanometer CMOS technologies brings about significant reliability challenges for the electronics. In particular, the increasing variability during fabricaton and the aging due to phenomena such as bias temperature instability and soft breakdown, cause time-dependent malfunctioning of circuits. To prevent this from happening before the scheduled lifetime of a product, appropriate models and analysis tools are developed for designers to simulate the expected problems. In addition, special design techniques are discussed that adapt the hardware at run time to keep up the requested functionality over the entire lifetime. All problems and solutions will be illustrated with practical examples.


Georges G.E. GIELEN received the MSc and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium, in 1986 and 1990, respectively. In 1990, he was appointed as a postdoctoral research assistant and visiting lecturer at the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science of the University of California, Berkeley. From 1991 to 1993, he was a postdoctoral research assistant of the Belgian National Fund of Scientific Research at the ESAT laboratory of the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. In 1993, he was appointed assistant professor at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, where he later promoted to associate professor and finally full professor in 2000. From 2007 till 2012 he was the Head of the Microelectronics and Sensors (MICAS) research division, which included five professors and more than 70 PhD students. Since August 2012 he is the Chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering (ESAT) at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. He is al! so the Cha ir of the Leuven ICT (LICT) research center, and the PI coordinator of the Leuven Center of Excellence called CHIPS.

His research interests are in the design of analog and mixed-signal integrated circuits, and especially in analog and mixed-signal CAD tools and design automation (modeling, simulation and symbolic analysis, analog synthesis, analog layout generation, analog and mixed-signal testing). He is coordinator or partner of several (industrial) research projects in this area, including several European projects (EU, MEDEA/CATRENE, ESA). He has authored or coauthored 7 books and more than 450 papers in edited books, international journals and conference proceedings. He regularly is a member of the Program Committees of international conferences (DAC, ICCAD, ISCAS, DATE, CICC…), and served as General Chair of the DATE conference in 2006 and of the ICCAD conference in 2007. He is currently the Chair of EDAA. He serves regularly as member of editorial boards of international journals (IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design, Springer International Journal on Analog Integrated Circuits and Signal Processing, Elsevier Integration).

He received the 1995 Best Paper Award in the John Wiley international journal on Circuit Theory and Applications, and was the 1997 Laureate of the Belgian Royal Academy on Sciences, Literature and Arts in the discipline of Engineering. He received the 2000 Alcatel Award from the Belgian National Fund of Scientific Research for his innovative research in telecommunications, and won the DATE 2004 conference Best Paper Award. He served as elected member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Circuits And Systems (CAS) society, as appointed member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA), and as Chairman of the IEEE Benelux CAS Chapter. He served as the President of the IEEE Circuits And Systems (CAS) Society in 2005, and as the Chair of the IEEE Benelux Section in 2009-2010. He was elected DATE Fellow in 2007, and received the IEEE Computer Society Outstanding Contribution Award and the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Meritorious Ser! vice Award in 2007. He is Fellow of the IEEE since 2002.


Luis Miguel Teixeira D Avila Pinto da Silveira


IST Alameda, Anfiteatro EA3 na Torre Norte do IST